Four centers for federal housing assistance for Superstorm Sandy open in Conn.

Oct 23, 2013

On Wednesday, Connecticut Governor Malloy announced the opening of four intake centers in the state  to help homeowners apply for disaster assistance from super storm Sandy. The centers are in Norwalk, Milford, Fairfield and East Haven. The state Department of Housing is distributing $30 million in federal relief assistance for homeowners not covered by insurance or FEMA. Housing Commissioner Evonne Klein  says if residents have any questions they should visit a center.

“These counselors will relieve the anxiety that, when we’ve had to file an application for something, that we all feel," said Klein. "So please take advantage of these intake counselors.”

The centers are located at:


Fairfield Senior Center
100 Mona Terrace
Fairfield, CT 06824 


Old Fire Department
100 Fairfield Ave.
Norwalk, CT 06854 


Parson Government Center
70 W. River Street
Milford, CT 06460 


52 South End Road, Unit A
East Haven, CT 06512 

Call 1-866-272-1976 to schedule an appointment. The centers are open from Monday to Friday 9 to 7 and Saturdays 9 to 3:30.  More information is online here.